Spiritual, Moral, Social and Cultural

What is SMSC?

Judging the quality of education provided in school.  Four areas:

  • Achievement of pupils
  • Quality of teaching
  • Behaviour and safety of pupils
  • Quality of leadership and management


  • The spiritual, moral, social and cultural development of pupils
  • Meeting needs of the whole range of pupils at the school, and in particular the needs of: Pupils who have a disability and pupils who have SEN&D

SMSC Ofsted 1

SMSC at Nelson

At Nelson our Social, Moral, Spiritual and Cultural needs are supported through a varied and creative curriculum.

SMSC British values evidence poster SMSC Cultural evidence poster SMSC Moral evidence poster SMSC Social evidence poster SMSC Spiritual evidence poster